clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Tournament Open Thread: the Sweet Sixteen

If basketball isn't yet dead to you, join us in the gamethread to talk Sweet Sixteen action.

Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Here are the three things you can do now that Vanderbilt's basketball season is over:

a) Declare the sport dead to you and focus on spring training results before eventually wandering back to the fold next October.
b) Bite your fingernails down to the nub while waiting for news on whether or not Kevin Stallings is coming back for 2016-17.
or c) Watch the Sweet Sixteen with the rest of us.

A field that included seven teams who had beaten Vanderbilt this winter is down to just one. That would be Texas A&M, the SEC's last remaining entrant and the inexplicable winner of a round of 32 game where it trailed by 12 points with 35 seconds to play. Alex Caruso and Danuel House are trying to keep the football conference's banner alive when they take on Buddy Hield and two-seed Oklahoma, but their season won't last if they have another 39 minute brain fart against the Sooners.

Elsewhere, Villanova and Miami square off to see who can be the more disappointing NCAA Tournament team, Oregon tries to prove its No. 1 seed cred by taking on old-money Duke, and Kansas and Maryland battle in what will probably be the game of the night.

Here's your full schedule. Join us to talk shop in the comments below.

Sweet 16 schedule (all times Eastern)

Thursday, March 24

No. 2 Villanova vs. No. 3 Miami (South), 7:10 p.m., CBS
No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Texas A&M (West), 7:37 p.m., TBS
No. 1 Kansas vs. No. 4 Maryland (South), 9:40 p.m., CBS
No. 1 Oregon vs. No. 4 Duke (West), 9:55 p.m., TBS

Friday, March 25

No. 1 Virginia vs. No. 4 Iowa State (Midwest), 7:10 p.m., CBS
No. 6 Notre Dame vs. No. 7 Wisconsin (East), 7:27 p.m., TBS
No. 10 Syracuse vs. No. 11 Gonzaga (Midwest), 9:40 p.m., CBS
No. 1 North Carolina vs. No. 5 Indiana (East), 9:57 p.m., TBS

Announcer teams

South: Jim Nantz, Bill Raftery, Grant Hill, Tracy Wolfson
East: Brian Anderson, Steve Smith, Dana Jacobson
Midwest: Kevin Harlan, Dan Bonner, Reggie Miller, Lewis Johnson
West: Verne Lundquist, Jim Spanarkel, Allie LaForce