clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bryan Reynolds, Kyle Wright Named to 2016 Golden Spikes Award Preseason Watch List

Two Commodores are already in the running to be the nation's top college baseball player.

Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

Two members of the No. 3 Vanderbilt Commodores are in the early running to be national player of the year. According to USA Baseball's Golden Spikes Award Watch List, outfielder Bryan Reynolds and pitcher Kyle Wright are two of the top 50 amateur baseball players in America.

Reynolds, a Freshman All-American in 2014 and a preseason All-American this winter, is a junior outfielder who will provide a veteran presence to Vanderbilt's reloaded offense in 2016. He batted .318 in 2015 despite dealing with a hole in his swing midway through the season and swiped 17 bases in 19 attempts. More importantly, his defensive wizardry prevented several extra base hits in the Commodore outfield.

Wright is only a sophomore, but he staked his claim as an elite prospect with a monster freshman season at Vanderbilt. He led the team with a 1.62 ERA, struck out 62 batters in 58.2 innings, and held opponents to a .180 batting average in his first year in the NCAA. Like Reynolds, he's got a Freshman All-American honor and a preseason All-American nod to his name as 2016 looms.

Other Commodore standouts, such as Will Toffey, Jeren Kendall, John Kilichowski, and Ben Bowden could all eventually find their way to the coveted award's pool of honorees. Here's the list in full, provided by USA Baseball:

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference

Will Albertson, C, Senior, Catawba, South Atlantic Conference

Nick Banks, OF, Junior, Texas A&M, Southeastern Conference

Carmen Benedetti, UT, Junior, Michigan, Big Ten Conference

Keivan Berges, RHP/OF, Junior, Keiser, Sun Conference (NAIA)

Ryan Boldt, OF, Junior, Nebraska, Big Ten Conference

Bryson Brigman, IF, Sophomore, San Diego, West Coast Conference

Zack Collins, C, Junior, Miami, Atlantic Coast Conference

Will Craig, RHP/IF, Junior, Wake Forest, Atlantic Coast Conference

Bobby Dalbec, IF, Junior, Arizona, Pac-12 Conference

Sam Dexter, IF, Senior, Southern Maine, Little East Conference

Kyle Funkhouser, RHP, Senior, Louisville, Atlantic Coast Conference

Luke Gillingham, LHP, Senior, Navy, American Athletic Conference

Reese Gregory, RHP/IF, Senior, St. Cloud State, Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference

Jason Groome, LHP, Senior (High School), Barnegat High School, High School

Alec Hansen, RHP, Junior, Oklahoma, Big XII Conference

KJ Harrison, C/IF, Sophomore, Oregon St., Pac-12 Conference

Kevin Hill, RHP, RS-Junior, South Alabama, Sun Belt Conference

Keston Hiura, UT, Sophomore, UC Irvine, Big West Conference

Tanner Houck, RHP, Sophomore, Missouri, Southeastern Conference

Ryan Howard, IF, Junior, Missouri, Southeastern Conference

Zach Jackson, RHP, Junior, Arkansas, Southeastern Conference

Daulton Jefferies, RHP, Junior, California, Pac-12 Conference

Kel Johnson, OF, Sophomore, Georgia Tech, Atlantic Coast Conference

Connor Jones, RHP, Junior, Virginia, Atlantic Coast Conference

Anthony Kay, LHP, Junior, UCONN, American Athletic Conference

Matt Krook, LHP, Sophomore, Oregon, Pac-12 Conference

Alex Lange, RHP, Sophomore, Louisiana State, Southeastern Conference

Andrew Lantrip, RHP, Junior, Houston, American Athletic Conference

Eric Lauer, LHP, Junior, Kent State, Mid-American Conference

Kyle Lewis, OF, Junior, Mercer, Southern Conference

Brendan McKay, LHP/IF, Sophomore, Louisville, Atlantic Coast Conference

Tyson Miller, RHP, Junior, California Baptist, Pacific West Conference

Sheldon Neuse, RHP/IF, Junior, Oklahoma, Big XII Conference

Chris Okey, C, Junior, Clemson, Atlantic Coast Conference

Corbin Olmstead, RHP/IF, Senior, North Florida, Atlantic Sun Conference

Ryan Olson, RHP, Junior, Cal Poly Pomona, California Collegiate Athletic Association

Riley Pint, RHP, Senior (High School), Saint Thomas Aquinas High School, High School

A.J. Puk, LHP, Junior, Florida, Southeastern Conference

Cal Quantrill, RHP, Junior, Stanford, Pac-12 Conference

Corey Ray, OF, Junior, Louisville, Atlantic Coast Conference

Buddy Reed, OF, Junior, Florida, Southeastern Conference

Bryan Reynolds, OF, Junior, Vanderbilt, Southeastern Conference

JJ Schwarz, C, Sophomore, Florida, Southeastern Conference

Nick Senzel, IF, Junior, Tennessee, Southeastern Conference

Mike Shawaryn, RHP, Junior, Maryland, Big Ten Conference

Matt Thaiss, C, Junior, Virginia, Atlantic Coast Conference

Mitchell Traver, RHP, RS-Junior, TCU, Big XII Conference

Donnie Walton, IF, Senior, Oklahoma State, Big XII Conference

Colby Woodmansee, IF, Junior, Arizona State, Pac-12 Conference

Kyle Wright, RHP/IF, Sophomore, Vanderbilt, Southeastern Conference