clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Carson Fulmer Named SEC Pitcher of the Year; Three Commodores Earn All-Freshman Nods

Yeah, checks out.

Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

Carson Fulmer added a big honor after a blistering regular season on the mound. On Monday, Southeastern Conference pundits named him the league's Pitcher of the Year.

Fulmer led Vanderbilt to a 9-1 record in the opening games of SEC series play. The 'Dores were just 11-9 against conference foes when he didn't pitch. He had a, 11-1 record with a staggeringly low 1.51 ERA and 132 strikeouts in 95.2 innings.

The junior is the third Commodore to win Pitcher of the Year honors in the league. He joins David Price and Grayson Garvin in the SEC's annals. Fulmer also earned a first-team selection to the league's All-Defense team.

He was the only Vanderbilt player to earn a first-team all-league bid. Dansby Swanson, the Commodores' best position player, took a second-team nod at shortstop behind LSU's Alex Bregman. Both players are projected to be top five picks in the upcoming 2015 MLB Draft. Zander Wiel (.325, 11 HRs, 52 RBI) and Rhett Wiseman (.307, 12, 48) were both notable omissions from the SEC's awards.

Three Vanderbilt newcomers earned a spot on the All-Freshman team. Will Toffey, Jeren Kendall, and Kyle Wright all made the 12-man squad.

The entire SEC honors are below:

2015 SEC Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas

Pitcher of the Year: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

Freshman of the Year: Alex Lange, LSU

Coach of the Year: Paul Mainieri, LSU

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Seth Heck, Mississippi State

First-Team All-SEC

C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Kyle Martin, South Carolina
2B: JaVon Shelby, Kentucky
3B: Conner Hale, LSU
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Christin Stewart, Tennessee
DH/UT: Mitchell Nau, Texas A&M
SP: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
SP: Alex Lange, LSU
RP: Zach Jackson, Arkansas

Second-Team All-SEC Team

C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Chris Chinea, LSU
2B: Max Schrock, South Carolina
3B: Josh Tobias, Florida
SS: Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt
OF: Kyle Barrett, Kentucky
OF: Nick Banks, Texas A&M
OF: Logan Taylor, Texas A&M
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Grayson Long, Texas A&M
SP: Cole Lipscomb, Auburn
*RP: Breckin Williams, Missouri
*RP: Wyatt Short, Ole Miss

Freshman All-SEC Team

C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Dalton Guthrie, Florida
3B: Will Toffey, Vanderbilt
SS: Ryan Gridley, Mississippi State
OF: Keegan McGovern, Georgia
OF: Trey Harris, Missouri
OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Tanner Houck, Missouri
SP: Keaton McKinney, Arkansas
RP: Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Defensive Team

C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Kyle Overstreet, Alabama
3B: Bobby Wernes, Arkansas
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Mark Laird, LSU
OF: Buddy Reed, Florida
P: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

* - Denotes a tie in voting. Ties are not broken.