clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SEC Media Picks Vanderbilt to Finish 6th in the SEC East; Not a Damn Player Earns All-Conference Honors

Vanderbilt got a tiny measure of respect when the SEC media picked them to finish sixth in the East. Then, they tore that away by neglecting Caleb Azubike, Darreon Herring, Adam Butler, and Joe Townsend on the preseason All-SEC teams.

Seriously? They didn't pick anyone?
Seriously? They didn't pick anyone?
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

If it wasn't clear that first year head coach Derek Mason was going to have to deal with the "Same Old Vandy" stereotypes in 2014, it must be by now. The Commodores were picked to finish sixth out of seven teams in the SEC East by the media on Thursday. The team did not have a single player make the preseason All-SEC roster.

Vanderbilt's young roster was neglected by the league's media, leaving rising players like Caleb Azubike, Kyle Woestmann, Darreon Herring, Adam Butler, and Joe Townsend in the dust. While those players may not have had the name recognition or production that their All-conference peers did, they'll play a major role for the 'Dores this season. Expect those players - and potential breakout stars like Andrew Williamson, Paris Head, and Jordan Cunningham - to earn more votes when the final All-SEC rosters are announced this winter.

Vandy also fell to sixth in the SEC's projected standings. The 'Dores beat out Kentucky but were picked to fall behind every other team on their side of the conference. Much of that skepticism has been driven by the fact that they're losing the two players that drove the team's offense (Jordan Matthews and Jonathan Krause) as well as their entire starting secondary. Vanderbilt will have plenty to prove both on the field and on the sideline. Mason has some big shoes to fill, and the media is painting a clear picture that they have little faith that James Franklin's changes in Nashville can be permanent.

Here are the All-SEC teams and projected conference standings in full:

SEC East

  1. South Carolina
  2. Georgia
  3. Florida
  4. Missouri
  5. Tennessee
  6. Vanderbilt
  7. Kentucky

SEC West

  1. Alabama
  2. Auburn
  3. LSU
  4. Ole Miss
  5. Mississippi State
  6. Texas A&M
  7. Arkansas

And here are the all-conference teams:



QB       Nick Marshall, Auburn (241)          

RB        T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (281)        

RB        Todd Gurley, Georgia (280)         

WR      Amari Cooper, Alabama (282)       

WR      Sammie Coates, Auburn (207)                    

TE        O.J. Howard, Alabama (188)                 

OL        La'el Collins, LSU (231)              

OL        Arie Kouandjio, Alabama (188)      

OL        Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss (183)       

OL        Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M (174)      

C          Reese Dismukes, Auburn (226)           


QB       Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (118)      

RB        Mike Davis, South Carolina (240)        

RB        Alex Collins, Arkansas (126)     

WR      Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (182)        

WR      Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (71)       

TE        C.J. Uzomah, Auburn (141)       

OL        A.J. Cann, South Carolina (166)       

OL        Vadal Alexander, LSU (112)     

OL        Alex Kozan, Auburn (112)     

OL        Corey Robinson, South Carolina (107)     

C          Ryan Kelly, Alabama (126)                  


QB       Bo Wallace, Ole Miss (94)                  

RB        Corey Grant, Auburn (52)       

RB        Keith Marshall, Georgia (44)    

WR      Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State (67)         

WR      Marquez North, Tennessee (66)     

TE        Hunter Henry, Arkansas (72)          

OL        Austin Shepherd, Alabama (106)

OL        Chad Slade, Auburn (101)

OL        John Theus, Georgia (96)

OL        Chaz Green, Florida (94)    

C          Evan Boehm, Missouri (77)        



DL        Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (239)         

DL        Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida (212)      

DL        A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama (208)      

DL        Gabe Wright, Auburn (192)    

LB        Trey DePriest, Alabama (253)       

LB        A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (186)         

LB        Ramik Wilson, Georgia (147)        

DB       Landon Collins, Alabama (274)      

DB       Vernon Hargreaves, III, Florida (243)       

DB       Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss (210)      

DB       Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M (183)


DL        Trey Flowers, Arkansas (181)              

DL        Chris Jones, Mississippi State (150)      

DL        Alvin "Bud" Dupree, Kentucky (134)    

DL        Markus Golden, Missouri (125)   

LB        Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State (143)     

LB        Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (137)       

LB        Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (116)       

DB       Robenson Therezie, Auburn (144)      

DB       Tre'Davious White, LSU (141)       

DB       Damian Swann, Georgia (127)      

DB       Tony Conner, Ole Miss (116)       


DL        Ray Drew, Georgia (102)                

DL        Montravius Adams, Auburn (94)      

DL        Carl Lawson, Auburn (87)      

DL        Jermauria Rasco, LSU (79)         

LB        Kwon Alexander, LSU (112)         

LB        Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn (82)      

LB        Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss (76)      

DB       Jon Mincy, Auburn (99)    

DB       Corey Thompson, LSU (86)        

DB       Rashard Robinson, LSU (84)   

DB       Brison Williams, South Carolina (81)      



P          Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (221)      

PK        Marshall Morgan, Georgia (224)               

RS        Christion Jones, Alabama (262)                

AP        Christion Jones, Alabama (130)              


P          Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas (136)        

PK        Colby Delahoussaye, LSU (142)                    

RS        Andre Debose, Florida (97)        

AP        Terrence Magee, LSU (111)       


P          Jamie Keehn, LSU (81)         

PK        Andrew Baggett, Missouri (103)                  

RS        Marcus Murphy, Missouri (72)        

AP        Trey Williams, Texas A&M (89)