clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four 'Dores Named Preseason All-SEC Players by Coaches; Spear, Matthews, Hal on First Team

Vanderbilt placed four players on the Coaches' preseason All-SEC team. Carey Spear, Jordan Matthews, and Andre Hal earned first-team recognition, while Wesley Johnson found a spot on the second team.

First-team All-SEC receiver Jordan Matthews.
First-team All-SEC receiver Jordan Matthews.
Frederick Breedon

Vanderbilt is starting to earn the respect of the SEC's coaches.

For the first time in decades, the Commodores put three players on the first unit of the Coaches' All-SEC team. Kicker Carey Spear, receiver Jordan Matthews, and cornerback Andre Hal were named the best at their positions in the nation's toughest football conference. Offensive tackle Wesley Johnson earned second-team recognition. All four players were named team captains by their peers earlier in the week.

While the list honored the 'Dores best players, there were a few notable snubs that failed to land on the coaches' first, second, or third teams. Safety Kenny Ladler, who was named as a preseason All-SEC pick by Phil Steele, didn't make the cut. Neither did punt returner Jonathan Krause, linebacker Chase Garnham, or defensive end Walker May. Those players can consider the coaches' selections bulletin board material as they prepare for next week's season opener against Ole Miss.

Here's the entire All-SEC list:



QB – Aaron Murray, Georgia
RB – Todd Gurley, Georgia
RB – T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
WR – Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR – Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
TE – Arthur Lynch, Georgia
OL – Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
OL – Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
OL – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
OL – Antonio Richardson, Tennessee
C – Travis Swanson, Arkansas


QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB – LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
RB – Tre Mason, Auburn
WR – Mike Evans, Texas A&M
WR – Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss
TE – Rory Anderson, South Carolina
OL – Anthony Steen, Alabama
OL – Ja’Wuan James, Tennessee
OL – Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt
OL – *A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OL – *Chris Burnette, Georgia
OL – *Zach Fulton, Tennessee
OL – *Jon Halapio, Florida
C – Reese Dismukes, Auburn


QB – AJ McCarron, Alabama
RB – Alfred Blue, LSU
RB – Keith Marshall, Georgia
WR – *Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
WR – *Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
WR – *Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri
TE – *Brian Vogler, Alabama
TE – *C.J. Uzomah, Auburn
OL – La’el Collins, LSU
OL – David Hurd, Arkansas
OL – Justin Britt, Missouri
OL – Aaron Morris, Ole Miss
C – James Stone, Tennessee



DL – Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DL – Dominique Easley, Florida
DL – Anthony Johnson, LSU
DL – Chris Smith, Arkansas
LB – C.J. Mosley, Alabama
LB – A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
LB – Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
DB – Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
DB – Craig Loston, LSU
DB – Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
DB – Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida


DL – Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina
DL – Daniel McCullers, Tennessee
DL – *Ed Stinson, Alabama
DL – *Xzavier Dickson, Alabama
DL – *Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama
LB – Lamin Barrow, LSU
LB – Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
LB – Adrian Hubbard, Alabama
DB – Damian Swann, Georgia
DB – Marcus Roberson, Florida
DB – E.J. Gaines, Missouri
DB – Deion Belue, Alabama


DL – *Dee Ford, Auburn
DL – *C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss
DL – *Ronald Powell, Florida
DL – *Alvin Dupree, Kentucky
DL – *Denico Autry, Mississippi State
LB – Avery Williamson, Kentucky
LB – Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
LB – *Ronald Powell, Florida
LB – *Trey DePriest, Alabama
DB – Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M
DB – Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State
DB – Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama
DB – Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss



PK – Carey Spear, Vanderbilt
P – Kyle Christy, Florida
RS – Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
AP – Bruce Ellington, South Carolina


PK – Cody Parkey, Auburn
P – *Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss
P – *Cody Mandell, Alabama
P – *Steven Clark, Auburn
RS – Marcus Murphy, Missouri
AP – Odell Beckham Jr., LSU


PK – *Andrew Baggett, Missouri
PK – *Zach Hocker, Arkansas
P – Michael Palardy, Tennessee
RS – Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
AP – LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State

Here is a breakdown of how many players each SEC team had represented:

Alabama Crimson Tide 5 7 4 16 33
Georgia Bulldogs 3 3 2 8 17
LSU Tigers 3 2 3 8 16
Florida Gators 3 2 2 7 15
South Carolina Gamecocks 2 3 1 6 13
Tennessee Volunteers 2 3 1 6 13
Vanderbilt Commodores 3 1 0 4 11
Mississippi Rebels 1 2 2 5 9
Mississippi St. Bulldogs 1 1 4 6 9
Auburn Tigers 0 3 2 5 8
Missouri Tigers 0 2 3 5 7
Texas A&M Aggies 1 2 1 4 6
Arkansas Razorbacks 1 0 2 3 5
Kentucky Wildcats 0 0 2 2 2

Methodology: First team = 3 pts, Second team = 2 pts, Third team = 1 pt