Tony Kemp, Tim Corbin Honored as SEC's Top Player, Coach

Vandy and LSU square off. Photo courtesy of Shoshana at Flickr. -

Tony Kemp and Tim Corbin were rewarded for an incredible season with SEC honors. Kemp was the Player of the Year, while Corbin was named Coach of the Year. Somehow, 14-0 Tyler Beede wasn't even on the All-SEC First Team.

Tony Kemp earned the moniker of the "One-Man Rally" in 2013. Now he's tacked on another title - SEC Player of the Year.

Kemp earned the league's highest accolade for a position player on Tuesday, bringing home POTY honors for just the second time in Vanderbilt history. Hunter Bledsoe won the award for the Commodores in 1999.

Kemp wasn't the only Commodore to earn a league-wide honor. Skipper Tim Corbin won Coach of the Year after guiding this team to a 51-9 season and the #2 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Corbin also won the award in 2007, when he led the Diamond Dores to the #1 seed behind the play of guys like David Price and Pedro Alvarez.

Tyler Beede, who was considered a solid pick to be the league's Pitcher of the Year, somehow dropped to second-team honors despite holding opponents to a .179 average and compiling a 14-0 record. LSU's Aaron Nola won the award after a 10-0 season, while Arkansas's Ryan Stanek joined him as the first team's other starter.

Mike Yastrzemski took home first-team All-SEC honors for his work in centerfield for the 'Dores. Connor Harrell won second-team accolades. Kemp and Yaz were both also members of the SEC's All-Defensive team. Carson Fulmer, Xavier Turner, and Zander Wiel were named to the All-Freshman team.

Here is the entire awards lineup, courtesy of

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Sam Frost, Mississippi State
SEC COACH OF THE YEAR - Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt

1B - Mason Katz, LSU
2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt
3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU
SS - Alex Bregman, LSU
C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss
OF - Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State
OF - Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt
OF - Raph Rhymes, LSU
DH/UTL - Keaton Steele, Missouri/A.J. Reed, Kentucky
P - Ryne Stanek, Arkansas
P - Aaron Nola, LSU
RP - Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State

1B - Garrett Cooper, Auburn
2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State/JaCoby Jones, LSU
3B - Curt Powell, Georgia/Andrew Mistone, Ole Miss
SS - Mikey Reynolds, Texas A&M/Mikey White, Alabama
C - Grayson Greiner, South Carolina
OF - Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt
OF - Brian Anderson, Arkansas
OF - Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M
DH/UTL - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M
P - Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt
P - Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss
RP - Tyler Webb, South Carolina

1B - Josh Lester, Missouri
2B - Kyle Overstreet, Alabama
3B - Xavier Turner, Vanderbilt
SS - Alex Bregman, LSU
C - Greg Fettes, Kentucky
OF -Kyle Barrett, Kentucky
OF - Vincent Jackson, Tennessee
OF - Harrison Bader, Florida
DH/UTL - Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt
P - Jack Wynkoop, South Carolina
P - Sean McLaughlin, Georgia
RP - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt/Ray Castillo, Alabama

P - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M
1B - Mason Katz, LSU; Cole Lankford, Texas A&M
2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt
SS - Adam Frazier, Mississippi State
3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU
C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss
OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky
OF - Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt
OF - Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Anchor Of Gold

You must be a member of Anchor Of Gold to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Anchor Of Gold. You should read them.

Join Anchor Of Gold

You must be a member of Anchor Of Gold to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Anchor Of Gold. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.